Was Deepti Sharma wrong or right in Mankading Charlie Dean?

Spinner Deepti Sharma, mankad-ed or ran out Charlie Dean at Non-Stricker end as the last wicket, in the third ODI played at Lord's.

Deepti Sharma Mankad run out draws attention to laws
Deepti Sharma Mankad run out draws attention to laws

In the recently concluded, India vs England ODI series, Indian Women whitewashed England Women in England for the first time. International media has been talking about the ethicality behind the last wicket dismissal in the final match.

Spinner Deepti Sharma, mankad-ed or ran out Charlie Dean at Non-Stricker end as the last wicket, in the third ODI played at Lord’s. Indian team and captain, Harmanpreet Kaur have expressed their support in solidarity with Deepthi and the spinner has said that she warned Charlie Dean before-hand. MCC said in their official statement that the match has been officiated properly and there find no fault in the dismissal.

On-field Umpires have discussed the legality according to the MCC laws and code of conduct and ruled it as OUT. Still, England Women team have been crying foul about the dismissal and experts from India and even from English cricket have supported Deepti Sharma’s act, formally.

A cricket journalist, Peter Della Penna, on social media proved that Charlie Dean has been repeatedly found outside the non-striker’s end trying to take a head-start. She has been found to be outside the non-striker’s end before the bowler has finished her bowling action 73 times.

India ran her out only on the 74th occasion and this is no crime – ethically or legally. English Media has been trying to blame Deepti Sharma and Indian Women’s team for the whole incident. Even English Senior Cricketer, Heather Knight, told to press that Indian team did not warn Charlie Dean before-hand.

This kind of discussion, is nothing new as Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has been found repeating Mankad run-outs in IPL and several T20I, ODIs. Indian captains have decided to withdraw appeals while in IPL, especially, in the games when Ashwin has been captain, he withstood the appeal against the likes of Jos Butler, kind of highly popular batsman.

New MCC code of laws, have already agreed to treat Non-striker run-out as completely legal and not “unfair play” any longer. Batters need not be warned before hand too. This new change will be coming into action from 1st of October. Hence, this debate has become interesting with English team claiming it to be unfair while Indian team is saying it is fair.

While the debate about “ethically right or wrong” will continue, if a batter tries to take undue advantage then bowlers should be able to warn or run out them within the allowed laws of the game.